Life In General

Shrimp and Grits, and Blessed

This past week has been full of excitement as I celebrated my grandfather’s 80th birthday and my 23rd birthday! While I am not a fan of being singled out and sung to on my birthday, I am constantly reminded how blessed I am to have my family and friends. Each “Happy Birthday” that has come in the past few days has been full of love and friendship and I couldn’t be more grateful for it!

Easter Sunday was spent with the family celebrating Papa and his 80th birthday, along with the importance of Easter. Our whole family came together for a beautiful Easter Morning Church service and you could truly see God’s excitement for the day when the sun came out right as we started the first hymn. A car alarm did try to join in on all the fun and after every member determined it wasn’t their car, we were able to continue.

IMG_1282 IMG_1290

I tried to study throughout the week, but it was a rough try. I couldn’t stay focused and seem to be distracted by anything and everything! Throughout my birthday and weekend, family took me out to eat to various restaurants as a way to celebrate together! Needless to say there are a lot of workouts in my future. Even my second family, my best friend’s family, invited me to celebrate with them the night of my birthday at one of the best restaurants in town, the Depot. And of course we finished the night with an episode of Duck Dynasty.

IMG_1297

IMG_1296

My mother also completed the Copper Bridge Walk in Charleston this past weekend! 6.7 miles and she finished with her best friend! The whole family couldn’t be more proud of her and know how much hard work she has put into it. Can’t wait to help her get ready for the next one!

Mom

Monday night, my grandparents and Emily joined us for shrimp and grits (my all-time favorite meal) with dessert being angel food cake and strawberries as my way for the rest of my family to join in on the birthday celebrations (Mom couldn’t be in town this past weekend due to the walk, and wanted to do one more dinner) Now this week has to be productive with studying, because this weekend, Emily and I are road-tripping to Clemson to see my sister and friends!

On to the second cup of coffee, or maybe a third. . . . .

Leave a Reply

