Daily Inspiration

“There’s no crying in baseball”

So since yesterday was the opening day of baseball season and Clemson beat the number one team, UNC, as well, I thought I would share one of my father’s favorite expression, “There is no crying in baseball”

If you have ever seen the movie, “A League of Their Own”, then you know the exact scene I am talking about. The movie is about baseball during World War II and women playing while the men were away at war. Not everyone agreed with women playing in the men’s place, especially Tom Hanks’ character. In this famous scene, Madonna begins crying as Tom Hanks is yelling at her over a play. Tom Hanks responds with “Are you crying?….There’s no crying in baseball!!!” And as soon as my father saw this scene, it became one of his many mottos.

Growing up, every time we wanted to give up, Dad responded with “There is no crying in baseball”. When we complained about running suicides at afternoon practices, he responded with “There is no crying in baseball”. Every time I called home stressed out about work or school, he responds with “There is no crying in baseball”.

Jini once asked why he said this when we were clearly not playing baseball. It means in my father’s words “Grit your teeth and push through it”. Crying or complaining won’t change the situation, it will just draw it out longer. Sometimes you have to work a little harder and push through in order to complete the task at hand. Everything is not meant to be easy, and hard work always pays off at the end.

Yesterday, I decided to run an extra mile on my running routine. About 1/4 into this extra mile, I wanted to stop and walk the rest of the way, but my father’s voice saying “Jessica, there’s no crying in baseball” kept ringing in my ears. By the end of the run I was exhausted, but I was proud I had finished it. Dad asked me how my run was when I got back, and little did he know how much he had helped me finish it.

Baseball

Leave a Reply

